Friday, January 1, 2016

Three Wins in Three Cities? Which Team Did That? 1/1/16

Hey baseball fans!

Two posts ago, I asked you the following questions: There's only one baseball team to win a World Series while playing in three different cities. What was the team and in which cities did they play their home games in which years? For those who answered each question correct, good job! If you didn't, here are the answers.

The Atlanta Braves have won three World Series in franchise history and won each of them while playing their home games in different cities! How funny is that? Their first championship came in 1914 against the juggernaut Boston Red Sox, who already had won two of the first ten Fall Classics up to the '14 season. On the back of a 94-59 record, the Boston Braves took care of the Sox in a four-game sweep.

The next Braves championship came in 1957, while playing their home games in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The Milwaukee Braves had a great team which included Hall of Famers Warren Spahn, Eddie Mathews, Red Schoendienst, and Hank Aaron. They took down the Mickey Mantle-led New York Yankees in a heated seven-game series.

The third and most recent Braves World Series win was as the Atlanta Braves in 1995. The '90s Braves made it to five World Series during the decade, but won it all only in '95. With the help of a pitching staff that included Hall of Famers Greg Maddux, John Smoltz, and Tom Glavine, Atlanta took down the powerful Cleveland Indians in six games.

I hope you enjoyed this post and thanks for reading it. Check back soon for more of "all the buzz on what wuzz." Happy New Year!!!


  1. Uh, sorry Matt... The victims of the 1914 "Miracle Braves" were Connie Mack's Philadelphia Athletics. The closest Boston ever came to an "MBTA Green Line" World Series was in 1948, but the Cleveland Indians eliminated the Sox in a one-game AL playoff (see "Galehouse, Denny").

    As Casey Stengel used to say, "You could look it up!"

  2. In this blog, three wins became in three cities,which game is baseball,. Here first championship came in against Juggernaut Boston red sox tickets

  3. The Atlanta Braves have won 3 series in franchise history and won every of them whereas enjoying their home games in several cities! However funny is that? Their 1st championship came in 1914 against the juggernaut Hub of the Universe Red Sox, UN agency already had won 2 of the primary 10 Fall Classics up to the '14 season. wintrust arena tickets


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.