Sunday, April 30, 2017

Same League, But World Series Opponents? HOW?! 4/29/17

Hey baseball fans!

When I began reading more about the World Series winners of the past, 1982 was a weird one for me to grasp. It shouldn't have been that weird to me, though. The Cardinals won in seven games. There was nothing wrong with that. But what was weird was their World Series opponents: the Milwaukee Brewers! How in the world could two teams who currently play in the same division also face each other in the World Series? It bends all rules of baseball! Oh, but that's just the tip of the iceberg, folks. Because in 2005, the White Sox won the World Series in a sweep of... the Astros, yet another team in the same division as its victor!

For all you youngsters out there, the Brewers and Astros used to be in different leagues. The Brewers were originally an American League team founded in 1969 and didn't switch to the National League until 1998. The Astros, originally founded in 1962, played in the National League until they switched over to the AL in 2013. I understand how confusing this might sound, but I got used to it, so it shouldn't be hard for anyone else to do so as well.

Thanks for reading this post and I hope you enjoyed it. Check back soon for more of "all the buzz on what wuzz."


  1. Minor correction Matt...the White Sox and Astros aren't in the same division...otherwise cool post. I'm old enough to remember the Brewers as an American League team and their going to the wire with the Orioles in 1982. Fun times.

  2. Very nice your blog and article. I like this blog thank for sharing.



Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.