Wednesday, January 23, 2013

The Sophomore of the Year Award 1/23/13

Hey baseball fans!

Today's blog is about a very interesting award that was only around in the 1950s. It isn't really that well-known, but if you read my Frank Malzone interview, you should know that he won the Sophomore of the Year Award.

The Sophomore of the Year Award was created in 1953. It was awarded to the best sophomore in each league. In the ten years of its existence, six Hall of Famers were given the award: Eddie Mathews,  Al Kaline, Ernie Banks, Frank Robinson, Orlando Cepeda and Ron Santo. Another player famous for winning the Sophomore of the Year Award was (as I implied before) Frank Malzone. Among others to win the award that you might be familiar with are Herb Score and Willie Davis. There are four players who won the Rookie of the Year as well as the Sophomore of the Year: Harvey Kuenn, Score, Robinson and Cepeda. Sadly, the award was discontinued starting with the 1963 season.

So, what can we learn from this? Some things should be remembered even though they aren't here anymore. Do you know who Old Hoss Radbourn is? You probably don't (unless you checked out my post about the greatest pitchers you've never heard of). So, remember, just because you don't know something, doesn't mean it wasn't great.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed this post. Thanks for reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment