Friday, September 25, 2015

Five Interesting Facts About Sacrifice Flies 9/25/15

Hey baseball fans!

In my last post, I asked you all a question: who has the most sacrifice flies in MLB history? The answer is Eddie Murray, with 128 career sac flies. Interestingly enough, the top six players on the all-time sac fly list are Hall of Famers: Murray, Cal Ripken, Jr., Robin Yount, Hank Aaron, Frank Thomas, and George Brett. That fact is just the first of five sacrifice fly facts I will be sharing today.

Fact Two: The top two active career sacrifice fly leaders both play on the New York Yankees: Alex Rodriguez (107) and Carlos Beltran (100).

Fact Three: The most sac flies in a single season by a single player was Gil Hodges in 1954. He hit 19 sacrifice flies that year.

Fact Four: The longest All Star Game in terms of time (four hours and 50 minutes) ended in a walk-off sacrifice fly. Michael Young of the Texas Rangers hit a sacrifice fly in the bottom of the 15th inning that brought home Twins' first baseman, Justin Morneau, to give the American League a 4-3 win in the 2008 MLB All Star Game.

Fact Five: Only one World Series has ever ended on a sac fly: the 1912 Fall Classic. Red Sox third baseman Larry Gardner brought in second baseman Steve Yerkes with a sacrifice fly in the bottom of the tenth in Game Eight that walked off the Series for the Sox against the Giants. It was the second World Series championship in Red Sox history.

Hope you enjoyed these facts and thanks for reading them. Check back soon for more of "all the buzz on what wuzz."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.